Courageous Love

 

I was not at all sure if I could read this book as it deals with a main character developing an illness that I’m sure all of us are terrified of.  I am so glad I did read it though as it is a wonderful story of love and commitment.  Yes, it is scary and harrowing at times but I came away from it feeling uplifted and I commend KC Richardson for her skill.  When ER nurse Alex and cop Frank meet it is not under the best of circumstances and they do not hit it off at all initially.  A second meeting lets them see each other in a different light and their relationship is slowly teased out in a very romantic and beautiful way.  We see very different aspects of their personalities as the book progresses and it is maybe Alex who surprised me the most.  She was so strong and easy going and knew what she wanted.  Her life changes so much though and she has to find a way to deal with it, not always successfully.  Frank is, on the surface, a tough, confident cop but she is so emotionally vulnerable with Alex, even before the illness takes hold.  I really liked her and found her to be an interesting, multi-faceted character.  This is a powerful story well worth five stars and more.

I was given this ARC by Netgalley and Bold Strokes Books in return for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

