Benched

Benched is a great story with a precarious romance at its centre and fascinating LGBT legal  issues woven throughout.  Tori is a Supreme Court Justice and is in a relationship with Genevieve, a well-known civil rights lawyer.  Due to Tori’s controlling behaviour and the fact that she is still uncomfortable being out of the closet things are not rosy between them.  I felt that Blythe Rippon really got inside their heads and I appreciated a story of mature women in their 40s who seemed real.  Their friends and colleagues and the professional lives they lead were just as interesting as the main characters.  The two law cases Genevieve was involved in dealt with trans and gay parenting issues and had me gripped.  I felt there was a depth to the storytelling and an emotional realism that had me totally change my view of a certain character.  I  highly recommend this book.
I was given this ARC by Ylva Publishing in return for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

