The Beast at the Door

This is a truly delightful story and I enjoyed it so much. There were quite a few surprises and it kept me enthralled. Patience lives at a time when young women were expected to marry well and have no life of their own. Education was basic and opinions were certainly never sought, especially in her family. When her father announced she is to marry someone she can’t stand and has no say in the matter she takes matters into her own hands and then her adventure begins. I thought the book was going in one direction and then the author completely surprised me. I adored Patience and her strength of will. When she meets Ada things become very interesting and the Beast of the title enters. Where it all goes is very interesting and I won’t spoil it by giving anything away. The interaction between the two young women was quite wonderful and I felt myself becoming a part of their world. Althea Blue has a real talent for drawing the reader into her imagination and I look forward to her next book. I was given this ARC free by Supposed Crimes in return for an honest review.

Leave a comment