The Loudest Silence (Part One)

I loved this story. Two very different women have a difficult start to their relationship. When cellist Kate moves to Chicago with her son Max she hopes they can be settled for a while after so much moving around. She makes a bad impression on her new boss Vivian, who is deaf. Seen as an Ice Queen, Vivian comes across as abrasive, cold and unfriendly. Kate soon discovers there is more to her and when the ice thaws she is someone she begins to feel close to. Their friendship begins amidst drama with Kate’s occasional date Ash, who is just the most annoying individual one can imagine. 

How it develops is wonderfully well written and addictive. Kate’s background and situation means she has so much responsibility and has to be careful who she lets into her life. Vivian has to deal with other people’s attitudes to her deafness and this colours the way she interacts with those around her.I spent my entire Sunday immersed in their story and didn’t want to stop until I finished the book. There is so much drama, emotion and love packed into it all that I couldn’t put it down. Olivia Janae has really impressed me with her first novel and I eagerly await the second in the series. 

I was given this ARC by Heartsome Publishing in return for an honest review.

Leave a comment