When maths teacher Erin books into a Scottish Castle hotel with a plan to research her difficult past she sets off a chain of events that had me hiding behind the metaphorical sofa. Nightmares from her childhood  begin to resurface, causing her to question the path she has taken. Meeting gorgeous chef Abby and her brother George brings some light and the hope of something more. I enjoyed the blossoming relationship between Erin and Abby. It was sweet and romantic with a fair bit of heat.  Of course the path of true love never runs smooth and the introduction of an irritating ex threatens to mar their happiness. The wonderful Scottish countryside setting was beautifully described and made me want to explore as Erin did. But the true strength of this book was Wendy Hudson’s skill in writing a tense, thrilling and frankly heart-stopping story that I couldn’t put down. She knows exactly how to ramp up the tension. Just when I thought I could relax she had me breathless again! A brilliant second novel from a very talented writer.

I was given this ARC by Ylva Publishing in return for an honest review.

Leave a comment